Reviews

7.2
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
7.5
Comfort
6.9
Property location
7.8
Facilities
6.8
Staff
7.7
Value
6.7

Reviews

    judith
    gb

    Review score

    5.4
    18 September 2018

    Don't book the family room!

    Very unpleasant and unhelpful woman on Reception insisted we had booked the family room so walked us past the nice cabins to a room at the back with a big furniture dump outside and a door that opened onto the street. Unfortunately there was a drunken argument between some men who appeared to be leaning against the door at 1 am. The only time on my three week holiday that I felt vaguely uneasy as part of me felt obliged to intervene but I didn't want to open the door with my daughters in the room trying to slee. The family room sleeps 6 with 2 sets of bunk beds. That was a surprise! Comfy bed. I was told that most people upgrade when they see this room but the upgrade was the daily rate for a cabin which seemed a bit of a rip off. They were not full and seemed unconcerned regarding my utter disappointment when I saw the location of the room. You had to walk through a gate and it was surrounded by a chicken wire fence. I felt as if I was entering a prison! Horrible! I had booked a room for myself and my 2 daughters. The woman just kept repeating that I'd booked the family room. When I booked it there was an icon with three heads telling me that this was the perfect room for three people. Confusing when the room sleeps 6. The hotel is located next to a cemetery and I can't even say that it was in the dead centre of town (ho ho) because it was at one end of the island. The rest of the staff seemed very friendly. We did everything we wanted to do and checked out a day early which does not reflect the appeal of the island. I just wanted to escape from the 'family room'. In every other hotel room on this holiday I had booked two double beds. Maybe the advert / info on Booking.com is confusing but do not make the same mistake as me. Don't book the family room. they have clearly duped many others.
    It is located on the beach - that is true. The cabins st the front appeared very nice but although we three would have fitted into a cabin with two double beds we were given the dire family room - AVOID!!!!
    Ewa
    pl

    Review score

    7.9
    1 September 2018

    Good price, good location, and good conditions.

    The broken a/c and a stand cooler instead, we needed rather have the door open to be able to sleep.
    Nice comfortable bungalows, fancy location - next to the cemetery which was rather picturesque than spooky. Coco palms just by our bungalow, the staff men helped to cut them and have fun with fresh coco milk. Nice beach banks on the private beach, but the smell was a bit bad. Good acceptable price. if you want to spend time on the beach you need to walk to the end of the island and there is the place to swim.
    Ethel
    bz

    Review score

    10
    21 August 2018
    Rooms were very spacious and comfortable; beach was clean; staff was very professional and friendly. I would stay at the property again.
    David
    es

    Review score

    7.9
    19 August 2018
    We had to leave earlier than the reception opened and the employees made everything possible to return our deposit. Amazing service.
    Rachel
    ca

    Review score

    5.0
    17 August 2018

    Would not stay there again

    The room was dark and dingy and dirty.
    Staff is really nice and accommodating Good location
    Steph
    ie

    Review score

    5.0
    12 August 2018
    Very rude woman on reception. Friend told aircon was broke with no offer to move room until demanded. Handled very badly by woman on front d
    Location, male staff in restaurant / bar very friendly
    Robert
    bz

    Review score

    6.7
    11 August 2018

    Overall it was a good trip

    The location, it was next/in front of the cemetery
    Ivan
    us

    Review score

    3.8
    10 August 2018

    Room rate higher then the place down the street with a pool on beach

    No pool and instead a cemetary
    I had tried to book a room at The Club because we wanted a pool on the beach, they were full and referre us here. Place needs a pool
    Audrey Elliott
    ie

    Review score

    7.1
    11 July 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    bz

    Review score

    8.8
    2 July 2018

    First experience

    Everything was well otherwise from the television not showing well.
    I love the sea front view was excellent with the balcony! Its kept well tidy in and outside. We all really enjoy our stay.
    Susan
    gb

    Review score

    2.5
    24 June 2018

    Avoid this hotel its absolutely terrible- Book the sister Hotel The Islay its wonderful

    The staff were not welcoming at all on arrival. The room was very tired and furniture well worn but above all is smelt of smoke and we don't smoke. We asked to pay more to move and were told - that's what you booked even though they had more rooms to cater for more people. We were shown another room but then told it would cost twice the price it was shown on booking.com, we could not change as the room had no cancellation on it. The hotel is next to the city graveyard they don't show that , it does not really have a beach just a section with really smelly seaweed which we did see them try and clear. Before we stayed we asked the bar person how much the beers were and we got told we could have a bucket of 6 for 30 Belize -any. We arrived and ordered 2 beers and said we would have the rest with our meal and then got told we had ordered 2 x 7 Belize ones and could not have the promotion as it only applied in happy hour for which there were no signs and it was beyond the time they said it stopped. I then asked for a prawn coconut curry and was told they have had no prawns for a month. I had waited to have them on my last night as were in all the other rests, I was then given the menu - it showed not much other choice and I picked chicken stew with rice, which I then realised I had been given on 2 x trips booked by their sister hotel The Islay so immediately dashed to the person and said can I change my mind and explained why. The person then said we have a special fish dish red snapper I said that's lovely I will have that. Anyway the fish came out deep fried and I never eat fish deep fried I like to taste the fish, plus had coconut rice which I had with the stew each time so I said to the person, I am sorry but I don't eat fried fish and I didn't expect rice with it. The person said no problem he would change it which I said I sincerely appreciated .
    Nothing it was terrible. Booked as it is the sister hotel to The Islay which was fabulous for the 4 nights before but they had no room on our last night on the island so we thought we would try their sister hotel.. We booked Tropical Paradise purely to use the restaurant we had been recommended to use which was terrible also with a very rude Restaurant Manager.
    GENEVIEVE
    bz

    Review score

    10
    2 September 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Queensoniah
    us

    Review score

    7.9
    31 August 2018

    Convenient and value

    No dressers
    Convenient and value
    New Yorker
    us

    Review score

    10
    16 August 2018
    The services was very good also the room are comfortable and the staff and very responsible and friendly
    The view the rate and the area also the food is delicious the lounge is comfortable and relaxing
    taylor
    us

    Review score

    5.0
    12 August 2018

    we have stayed here 2 times before and highly enjoyed the stays, the staff did not accommodate us

    after we arrived we were told we were to be moved into a back area to a room over a construction area.
    The good size wise and cool air. bathroom was also fine.
    Destiny
    bz

    Review score

    5.8
    10 August 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    SAVANNAH
    us

    Review score

    4.6
    6 August 2018
    Nothing
    Sandra Miranda
    bz

    Review score

    3.3
    27 July 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Sabina Visarraga
    mx

    Review score

    7.1
    10 July 2018
    The smell of the saragasso was unbearable. I could not have the windows open or sit on the porch . I know it not the hotels fault .
    Friendly staff.
    Matthew
    us

    Review score

    5.8
    9 July 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
Loading reviews